Sailors Awards

Relaxation of certain social distancing restrictions finally allowed the Hebe Haven Yacht Club to organize its Sailors Awards Presentation Ceremony 2021-22 on Wednesday evening, the 25th of May 2022. With the removal of the tent over the Garden Bar the unpredictable weather meant the function was moved inside taking over the restaurant areas for the evening.

The commodore, Don Johnston, welcomed the awardees and members attending the ceremony.

The awards were split into four categories – Community, Hebe Dragons, Sailability and Racing & Regattas with refreshment breaks between each.

First off in the Community awards, Cythia Ng from the Children’s Cancer Fund, the charity that is the major beneficiary of the 24-Hour Charity Dinghy Regatta, was on hand to present the Sailor of the Year award to Sunny Wong. This was followed by the presentation to Tommy Wong Haunting by Paul Brownless, rear commodore operations, of the Scallywag Sailor of the Year.

Unfortunately Alfred Okoth, Head Racing Coach, was unavailable for the evening but had pre-recorded a video outlining the major achievements of the young Hebe Dragons sailors over the past year.

Winner of the Hebe Dragons Spirit Award was Ivy So presented by past commodore, David Campbell, as well as the Optimist Fleet Captain award, presented by Harvey Jessop, rear commodore sailing development committee.

Sara Houghton presented Jonathan Zeppezauer with the Most Improved Sailor award while John Lo, general committee member, presented the Sailor of the Year award to Daniel Chan.  Watched by his proud mother, Seb van Ommerren received the Laser fleet Captain award from Harvey Jessop.

Bary Hill, recently elected Chairman of Sailability Hong Kong, presented various awards recognising  the outstanding achievements of the sailors in the Sailability Hong Kong programmes. Foo Yuen Wai received the Male Para Sailor of the Year award and Leung Yuk Chun Sylvia, the Female Para Sailor of the Year.

The Sailability SEN (Special Educational Needs) Sailor of the Year was awarded to Cheung Tsz Hin with Matthew Chiang the Most Improved SEN Sailor of the Year. The two awards were presented by Sailability instructor, Jess Lam.

The Sailability programmes are heavily dependent on volunteers, many of whom attended the ceremony. Chan Kam Wai Carolyn, received the Female Volunteer of the Year award and Frederic Vaudaine the Male Volunteer of the Year award from Kay Rawbone, co-founder of Sailability Hong Kong.

The Most Improved Para Sailor of the Year award went to Poon Tsz Ming and the Sailability Hong Kong School Program Cup to TWGHs Tsui Tsin Tong.

The final session recognised the sailing achievements of the club members. Sara Houghton was surprised to receive the Volunteer of the Year award from Joe Chan, past sail committee rear commodore, particularly in the presence of her son and daughter.

Juliet Ashton, currently overseas, pre-recorded a video in appreciation of her award of Female Sailor of the Year. Paul Arkwright, the club’s general manager, received the award on her behalf from Simon Jones, past rear commodore sailing.

Simon Jones’ contribution to club sailing is the stuff of legend. This was recognised with the presentation by Bridget Chan, sailing committee rear commodore, of the Toby Jug (first presented to the late Toby Jenkyn-Jones in 2017) as the Male Sailor of the Year.

Awards were then made by Joseph Lau, past rear commodore, to the IRC Keelboat of the Year H3O and tothe HKPN Keel Boat of the Year, Ichiban, which also won the 2020 award. Additional Keel Boat awards were presented for 2017-2020.

Not to be forgotten were the achievements of the Sailing Centre, the staff and sailing committee who supported members and the public with their sailing activities, despite the considerable disruption in 2021. A job well done!

Widget is loading comments...